The Norman Smith Handicap Race

  • The season concludes with this handicap race which is followed by the presentation of awards based on the results of the preceding 4 races. The handicap has its own prizes
  • any runner who has entered the series or even enters only for this event and has a bib number may take part but only those who have competed in at least 2 of the 4 preceding races will be given an official start time and will be eligible for the handicap prizes
  • a runner who does not have an official start time should start at the same time as other runners of roughly the same ability or later to avoid finishing first more
  • the first qualifying runner to finish will be awarded the perpetual Norman Smith Handicap Shield (from 2010) and there will be shields for the first three qualifying runners
  • a runner’s handicap is based on their performances in the same year’s League events, as calculated by the League’s results team, but it may be adjusted if necessary